Kibuule, Rukutana, Lokodo join other Ministers booted out of parliament

Saturday January 16 2021
rukutana pix

As the 2021 general elections vote tallying continues, ministers keep losing their parliamentary seats to mostly National Unity Platform (NUP) candidates.

Among the new entrants on the list is Ronald Kibuule that State Minister for Water who lost the Mukono County North parliamentary seat to NUP’s Abdallah Kiwanuka.

Ethics Minister, Simon Lokodo who stood as an independent will not return to parliament after he was beaten Ben Batom Koryang of NRM.

The government Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa will also not be part of parliament in the next term after she was beaten at the polls by NUP’s Christine Kaaya in the race for Kiboga Woman MP.

State Minister for Labour, Mwesigwa Rukutana is out and will be replaced by independent candidates Naomi Kabasharira. Kabasharira stood against Rukutana in the NRM primaries, a race that culminated in violence. Rukutana was later declared the winner and represented NRM in the polls.

Ephraim Katuntu, the Minister for Justice was also voted out of parliament by the people for Sheema County South. He will be replaced by the independent candidate, Elijah Mushemeza.


A one Abraham Isamat of the NRM beat Tesso Affairs Minister Jane Akiror Egunyu in Kapir COunty, Ngora district.

The people of Kazo have voted out Molly Kamukama in favour of NRM’s Jennifer Muheesi. Kamukama was looking to reprised her position a she Kazo Woman MP.

Agriculture Minister Vincent Ssempijja has also been removed as Kalungu East County MP as the people of this constituency favoured a one Francis Katabaazi from NUP.

Bunyoro Affairs Minister, Ernest Kiiza will be replaced by FDC’s Joab Businge in Masindi Municiaplity, Masindi District.

Isaac Musumba the state Minister for Urban Planning has been beaten in Buzaaya County, Kamuli district. The people of this constituency preferred Martin Mugabi Muzaale of the NRM party.

State Minister in Vice President’s office, Kasiriivu Atwooki has also been booted by the people of Bugangaizi West County, Kakumiro district.

Vice President Edward Ssekandi will not be representing Bukoto Central for the fifth time after losing the seat to newcomer Richard Ssebalama in the 2021 general elections.

Earlier, the Vice President the decision for Vice President Edward Ssekandi to leave parliament was made by the people of Bukoto County Central. He is going to hand his parliamentary seat over to DP’s Richard Ssebalama.

In Kampala, The Minister for lands, Beti Kamya who tried her luck at joining parliament has been beaten by NUP’s Abubaker Kawalya for the Rubaga North seat in parliament. The ICT Minister Judith Nabakooba has also lost to Journalist Joyce Bagala.

The people of Bukoto South have decided that Youth Minister Nakiwala Kiyingi is not their person for the seat in parliament and decided to give it to Democratic Party’s Veronica Nanyondo.

The Minister of trade and cooperatives, Amelia Kyambadde will not be returning to represent the people of Mawokota North. They have decided to choose her closest rival Hillary Kiyaga Hildaman (NUP).

In Kitgum Municipality, Junior Minister of environment Beatrice Anywar has lost the parliamentary seat to Dennis Onekaliut Amere from the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC).

Dicksons Kateshumbwa managed to beat Science and Technology Minister Elioda Tumwesigye for the Sheema Municipality parliamentary seat. This is the second time Kateshumbwa beats Elioda in this electoral process. Elioda first lost to Kateshumbwa in the NRM Primaries.

The State Minister for Microfinance Haruna Kasolo will have to hand his Kyotera County parliamentary seat over to Democratic Party’s (DP) John Paul Mpalanyi Lukwago.

Christopher Kibanzanga the State Minister for Agriculture has lost the MP race for Bughendera county in Bundibugyo to NUP’s Acrobat Kiiza.

Rosemary Sseninde, the State Minister for Primary Education is not the choice for the people of Wakiso to be their woman MP as Betty Ethel Naluyima appealed to them more. Her colleague Chrysostom Muyingo the  State Minister for higher education also lost the Bamunianika county seat to National Unity Platform’s Robert Ssekitooleko.