How countries will qualify to play in World Cup 2022 - Sports | NTV

How countries will qualify to play in World Cup 2022

By Shiktrax media Limited

Friday March 6, 2020

The Qatar 2022 World Cup will be the 22nd FIFA World Cup. National teams that are members of FIFA will compete in the football championship. Qatar will be the first Arab nation to host the World Cup. Pundits can place World Cup bets at Betway. The World Cup qualifiers started in June 2019. Read to learn more about the qualification process.
The Qualification Process
Some continental confederations haven't yet revealed their qualification criteria for the Qatar World Cup. Qatar has automatically qualified for the tournament since it is the host. But, the AFC requires it to take part in the first two rounds of the qualifying stage since they are part of the qualification process of the 2023 AFC Asian Cup. FIFA will use the same criterion that it applied in 2014, 2010, and 2006 World Cups. Gamblers can visit a Betway to wager on their favorite nations in the Qatar World Cup.
Here are the slots for the 2022 World Cup:
• Africa (CAF)-5
• Asia (AFC)-5 or 4
• South America (CONMEBOL)-5 or 4
• Caribbean, Central and North America (CONCACAF)-4 or 3
• Europe (UEFA)-13
• Hosts-1
• Oceania (OFC)-1 or 0
Confederation Qualification
Here is an insight into the qualification criteria of different regional confederations:
CAF declared on July 10, 2019, that it will use the format it applied in the 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifiers. It will include:
• First round: 28 teams will play away and home games in two legs. The winners will then proceed to the second round.

• Second round: CAF will divide the 14 winners in round one and 26 other teams into ten groups made up of four teams each. They will play round-robin home and away games. The ten winners of each group will take part in the next round.
Third round: The ten group winners in the second round will play home and away matches in two legs and the winners will represent the continent in the 2022 World Cup.
The first two rounds of the qualifiers are part of the 2023 AFC Asian Cup qualification process. The qualification criteria will constitute three rounds. The first round will feature 12 teams that will play home and away games in two legs. Forty teams will compete in the second round. The top four group runners up and the eight winners will advance to the third round.
The CONMEBOL Council will apply the same qualification criterion it has used in the last six FIFA World Cups. The ten CONMEBOL teams will play round-robin home and away game from March 2020 until November 2021.
CONCACAF restructured its qualification process. The qualifiers will start in September 2020 and it will comprise a top-seeded hexagonal group, knockout stage, lower-seeded group stage, and a play-off round.
The qualifiers will start in September 2020. But, the regional schedule and structure haven't been released yet.
The UEFA Executive Committee confirmed its qualification format on December 4, 2019. It will partly depend on the UEFA Euro 2020 and the 2020/2021 UEFA Nations League results. The structure consists of a group stage and a playoff stage.
The six continental confederations that are members of FIFA will organize their qualifying competitions. Any of the 211 associations can compete in the qualifiers. But, Qatar doesn't have an automatic qualification since it is the host. Betway will offer timely match updates during the Qatar 2022 World Cup. The tournament will attract thousands of spectators from all over the world.

NB: Advertorial by Shiktrax media Limited
Gambling is permitted for those 18+